SEARCH

Yo Adrian, I did it!

video installation
3:36 min,
3 channel, HD 1080p
Dolby Digital 3.1, German
Germany / Netherlands 2011

The work is supported by TENT Rotterdam


(For English translation, please find below as well a video with the used original scenes)

Synopsis

It is, as if Rocky lives through his (five film) live(s) all over again and résumés his fights in front of the mirror. Jan Bode performed a resigned, almost desperate drama of explanation, not about the fights in the boxing ring, but the fights that let him to the boxing ring. “I just gotta do what I gotta do. ” he states at the end of the first epilog. Rocky has a mission, a calling. He will have succeeded when he says: “Yo, Adrian, I did it!”

The video installation by Jan Bode is based on the film series Rocky Balboa (1976/79/82/85/ 90). Rocky is the main character. Jan Bode performs his character in the middle screen. Adrian Pennino Balboa, his wife, Apollo Creed in the role of his former rival, who is now his coach, as well as his challenger James “Clubber“ Lang talk insistently, sometimes simultaneously, to Rocky from the left and the right screen. Jan Bode plays the various roles and by doing so shows how much Rocky carries his own role as well as the other roles within himself. At the end of the fifth epilogue he has to realize that he is alone and will remain so? “Just you alone.”

The scenes Jan Bode chose are not a compressed summary of the films, but reflect the search for identity of the hero and his gender role as a man in modern society. The artist reflects on how the media stages this role and why an emancipated society approves of it. Is the role of the man as presented in the media up to date? It is long since a man was expected to be tough, competitive and able to put on a poker face. The new man should be a lot different. Or does he?

The characters argue with a militant commitment. It seems as if he prepares himself for something. At the same time, the internal dialog wears him out when he feels and admits that he is afraid, when he has to accept that he lost: “I‘m supposed to be a fighter.” But his self-complacency that shines through repeatedly makes us see the tragic and helplessness of his fight and proves him right. “We have to be right in the middle of the action. We can‘t change what we are. And all we can do is just go with what we are.”

What is this fight about? It is neither the materialistic or domestic success, nor the success with the public that Rocky tries to achieve and that defines and satisfies him. It is about assertiveness and an imaginary victory over himself that was full of efforts and pain. It is the triumph over an allegedly better man.

“But that don‘t change a thing. We‘re born with a killer instinct. That you can‘t just turn off and on like some radio. We have to be right in the middle of the action. Because we‘re the warriors.“

And there it is again: the man as a man is left to his own fate. And therefore the hamster wheel of self-justification keeps on spinning, just like the loop of this monolog, which blurs beginning and end and we loose track of where this will all end. Or do we? “Adrian, a lot of people don‘t have a choice. I do.”

(Text: Bernhard Balkenhol)

 


Sources:

Rocky II
Written and directed by Sylvester Stallone
(© 1979 by Chartoff-Winkler Productions / United Artists)

Rocky III
Written and directed by Sylvester Stallone
(© 1982 by Chartoff-Winkler Productions / United Artists)

Rocky IV
Written and directed by Sylvester Stallone
(© 1985 by Chartoff-Winkler Productions, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM), United Artists)

For this page, the comments are closed.

SEARCH

Yo Adrian, I did it!

Videoinstallation
3:36 min
3 Kanal, HD 1080p
Dolby Digital 3.1, deutsch
Deutschland, Niederlande 2011

Die Arbeit wurde unterstützt von TENT Rotterdam


Synopsis

Als würde Rocky sein(e fünf Film-)Leben noch einmal vor dem Spiegel durchgehen und all die Kämpfe resümieren, hat Jan Bode ein resigniertes bis verzweifeltes Rechtfertigungsdrama aufgeführt. Es sind nicht die Kämpfe im Ring, sondern die, die ihn zum Kampf im Ring geführt haben. „Ich muss tun, was ich tun muss“ heißt es am Ende des ersten von fünf Epilogen. Rocky also hat einen Auftrag, eine Bestimmung. Hat er ihn erfüllt, wenn es heißt: “Yo, Adrian, I did it!”

Die Videoinstallation von Jan Bode basiert auf der Filmreihe Rocky Balboa, 1976/79/82/85/90. Rocky ist die Hauptfigur, Jan Bode spricht ihn selbst im mittleren Bildschirm. Adrian Pennino Balboa, seine Frau, Apollo Creed in der Rolle seines ehemaligen Konkurrenten, jetzt Trainers und Freund, sowie sein Herausforderer James „Clubber“ Lang reden, teilweise gleichzeitig, von rechts und links auf ihn ein. Auch diese wechselnden Rollen verkörpert Jan Bode – und zeigt damit, wie sehr Rocky seine und auch die Rolle der anderen in sich trägt. So muss er im 5. Epilog einsehen, dass er letztlich allein ist – und bleiben soll? „Tu es, tu es nur für dich, für dich allein.“

Die Szenen, die Jan Bode ausgewählt hat, sind keine geraffte Zusammenfassung der Filme, sie beschäftigen sich vielmehr ausschließlich mit der Suche nach der Identität des Helden und dessen gesellschaftlich tradierter Geschlechterrolle als Mann. Es geht ihm um die mediale Inszenierung der Bestätigung in dieser Rolle durch die gleichzeitige Hinterfragung ihrer Aktualität in einer emanzipierten Gesellschaft. Denn die erwartet von ihren Neuen Männern schon längst nicht mehr dieses veraltete Männerbild von Härte, Konkurrenz und Poker-Face. Oder doch?

Mit kämpferischem Engagement führt er die Dialoge. Es ist, als wolle er sich fit machen. Gleichzeitig zermürbt ihn dieser innere Monolog, wenn er spürt und bekennt, dass er Angst hat, wenn er einsehen muss, dass er verloren hat: „Ich muss boxen / Ich kann sonst nichts.“ Immer wieder aber scheint auch eine Selbstgefälligkeit auf, die die Hilflosigkeit und Tragik seines Kampfes deutlich werden lässt – und ihm damit Recht gibt. „Wir sind Kämpfer / Ein Mann kann sich nicht ändern / Wir können nur so leben wie wir sind.“

Worum eigentlich geht es in dem Kampf? Denn es ist nicht der materielle oder der Publikums-Erfolg, auch nicht der familiäre, den Rocky erzielen will, der ihn definiert und zufrieden stellt, es geht um Selbstbehauptung und einen imaginären Sieg gegen sich selbst, voller Anstrengungen und Schmerzen, um den Sieg über einen vermeintlichen Besseren (Mann).

„Wir haben nun mal keine andere Wahl. Wir sind mit dem Instinkt eines Kämpfers zur Welt gekommen. Den kann man nicht einfach abschalten. So wie ein zu lautes Radio. Wir müssen uns immer wieder der Herausforderung stellen, denn wir sind Kämpfer.“

Da ist es wieder: der Mann als Mann ist seinem Schicksal ausgeliefert. Und so dreht sich das Hamsterrad der Selbstrechtfertigung – wie der Loop in diesem Monolog und verwischt dabei, wo der Anfang und das Ende, wo ein Anhalten ist. Oder doch? „Viele Menschen haben auch keine andere Wahl – ich schon.“

(Text: Bernhard Balkenhol)

 


Quellen:

Rocky II
Written and directed by Sylvester Stallone
(© 1979 by Chartoff-Winkler Productions / United Artists)

Rocky III
Written and directed by Sylvester Stallone
(© 1982 by Chartoff-Winkler Productions / United Artists)

Rocky IV
Written and directed by Sylvester Stallone
(© 1985 by Chartoff-Winkler Productions, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM), United Artists)

 

For this page, the comments are closed.